Zebra Fact: Some Interesting Things That Might Surprise You

Interesting zebra facts
Shop Calendars.com Now!

Today we will discuss some interesting features of ZEBRA.

According to mammalian classification, they are the members of the order Perissodactyla in class Mammalia. Zebras are found only in wild Africa.

There are 3 species of zebras. Viz.

  1. Plain Zebra: Equus quagga
  2. Mountain Zebra: Equus zebra
  3. Grevy’s Zebra: Equus grevyi

A Zebra can be of 4-5 feet till shoulder and can weigh up to 350 kgs. Males are slightly taller and heavier than the female. Zebras are social animals and they live in herds.

They are herbivorous, and mainly graze on tough grasses.

Zebra Stripes:

zebra facts stripes

The most interesting and unique feature of a zebra is the stripes. They are vertical on head, neck, and the main body and horizontal on rear ends and legs. Like human fingerprints, each Zebra has unique stripes. Different species have different stripes. Some species have wider stripes than the other.

These stripes make it harder for the predators to separate a single zebra and catch. It has also been proved that these stripes help the Zebra to deter insects which tend to such their blood.

Zebras have black with white stripes and not white with black stripes as it was popularly believed.

Zebras can be very unpredictable in their nature and due to this, they are not trained like horses.

They are single-toed hoofed (perissodactyls) animal.

Grevy’s Zebra has been named after French President Jules Grevy.

Zebras are generally slower than horses in terms of top speed but they possess a greater stamina and that helps zebras outpacing predators.

Zebras have rounded (compared to horses), larger ears and excellent hearing. They have excellent eyesight and also have night vision.

They have an acute sense of smell and taste.

Like horses, zebras sleep standing up.

The life expectancy of a Zebra is 20-30 years in the wild.

It is a matter of shame that Zebras are still hunted for their skin and meat and still are in the endangered category.

Create awareness. Share this Article:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.